Friday, November 27, 2015

Book Review: Pivot Point - The Pivot Point Series


Perfect for fans of Sliding Doors, Kasie West's riveting novel Pivot Point follows a girl with the power to see her potential futures.
Addison Coleman's life is one big "What if?" As a Searcher, a special type of clairvoyant, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she is able to look into the future and see both outcomes. So when her parents tell her they are getting a divorce and she has to pick who she wants to live with, a Search has never been more important.
In one future Addie is living with her mom in the life she's always known and is being pursued by the most popular guy in school. In the other she is the new girl in school, where she falls for a cute, quiet artist. Then Addie finds herself drawn into a murder investigation, and her fate takes a darker turn. With so much to lose in either future, Addie must decide which reality she's willing to live through . . . and who she's willing to live without.

My Review

This is the first book in a two book series. Kasie West is the author and the book is 357 pages long.

Addie's life has been somewhat perfect. She had two parents that loved each other, an awesome best friend, and a very useful ability. All of a sudden her life did a turn-over and now she has to choose between her two parents. She decides to look into the future of each choice. She has the choice between her dad at a norm school with norm friends and a norm boyfriend. Then, there is her mother. She would get to stay with her bestie and would be dating the most popular boy in school. Both had different outcomes, but they similarities as well. Either way someone important to her gets killed. Who will Addie choose? Which side is more dangerous?

I'll give Kasie West kudos for this book. I hate SyFy, but this book was relatively different. I mean, it is about these people that have special abilities and are trying to stay hidden from us "norms". I like Kasie's choice in words, as well. She explains Addie's thoughts very thoroughly and clearly. There was a few errors, not enough to really make a difference. The only real problem was the confusion. It switches from choice to choice so fast that you don't follow. There was many times when I would ask myself "Did I skip a few pages? Which outcome is this? Hugh!?" Yeah, I'm kinda weird, but it's true! 

No comments:

Post a Comment